Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Book Group: Gary Paul Nabham’s Coming Home to Eat. The Pleasures and Politics of Local Foods | | Sebastopol

June 5, 2014 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Free

The SFRR Book Group is finishing Gary Paul Nabham’s Coming Home to Eat. The Pleasures and Politics of Local Foods.

For this second meeting on Nabham’s book we will have read Fall and Winter of Gary’s now classical book.

This is also an opportunity for folks who read the whole book but can’t meet bi-weekly.

To RSVP write the Book Group at Slow Food Russian River Book Group <sfrrbookgroup@gmail.com>. The book group is open to anyone who can read and likes a good conversation.

“A celebration of food and culture with a social conscience, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fischer and Frances Moore Lappe. We really are what we eat. Eating close to home is not just a matter of convenience it is an act of deep cultural, emotional, and environmental significance. Gary Nabhan’s experience with food permeates his life as a third-generation Lebanese American (with Irish and Lithuanian mixed in), as an avid gardener and subsistence hunter, as an ethnobotanist preserving seed diversity, and as an activist devoted to recovering native food traditions to promote the health of Native Americans in the Southwest. To rediscover what it might mean to “think globally, eat locally,” he spent a year trying to eat only foods grown, fished, or caught within two hundred miles of his home with surprising results. In Coming Home to Eat , Nabhan draws these experiences together in a book that is a culmination of his life’s work and a vibrant portrait of the essential human relation to the foods that truly nourish us, affirming our bonds to family, community, landscape, and season.”

***

Gary Nabham’s recent work has been on mitigating climate change (heat, moisture changes) on the field and in the garden.

Coping With Heat in the Garden: Drought-Tolerant Crops, Resilient Perennials and MoreYou can employ several strategies for growing food while coping with drought and climate change, including planting dozens of recommended varieties of short-season, more drought-tolerant crops.

Details

Date:
June 5, 2014
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Cost:
Free

Organizer

Slow Food Russian River Book Group
Email:
sfrrbookgroup@gmail.com

Venue

Private Home in Sebastopol
Address with RSVP
Sebastopol, CA 95472 United States
+ Google Map