Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Book Group: Gary Paul Nabham’s Coming Home to Eat. The Pleasures and Politics of Local Foods

May 22, 2014 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Free

The SFRR Book Group is starting to talk about Gary Paul Nabham’s Coming Home to Eat. The Pleasures and Politics of Local Foods.

Our first meeting on the book is Thursday May 22 and we’ll discus the Spring and Summer section of Gary’s now classical book.

To RSVP write the Book Group at Slow Food Russian River Book Group . You’ll get a reponse with the home we are meeting. The book group is open to anyone who can read and likes a good conversation.

“A celebration of food and culture with a social conscience, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fischer and Frances Moore Lappe. We really are what we eat. Eating close to home is not just a matter of convenience it is an act of deep cultural, emotional, and environmental significance. Gary Nabhan’s experience with food permeates his life as a third-generation Lebanese American (with Irish and Lithuanian mixed in), as an avid gardener and subsistence hunter, as an ethnobotanist preserving seed diversity, and as an activist devoted to recovering native food traditions to promote the health of Native Americans in the Southwest. To rediscover what it might mean to “think globally, eat locally,” he spent a year trying to eat only foods grown, fished, or caught within two hundred miles of his home with surprising results. In Coming Home to Eat , Nabhan draws these experiences together in a book that is a culmination of his life’s work and a vibrant portrait of the essential human relation to the foods that truly nourish us, affirming our bonds to family, community, landscape, and season.”

Details

Date:
May 22, 2014
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Cost:
Free

Organizer

Slow Food Russian River Book Group
Email:
sfrrbookgroup@gmail.com

Venue

Private Home in Sebastopol
Address with RSVP
Sebastopol, CA 95472 United States
+ Google Map